3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2014 4:30 AM by Ned Murphy

Battleship like math game and the limits of flash

Rackoon Level 1

Hi I am a math teacher. I created a math game using Activinspire for my class (it took well over 100 hours). I would like to make the same game with flash in order to make the game more dynamic, but I don’t know of flash can do it.

Yes, I have two of the “Classroom in a book” books (the standard one and the action script one) and are working though them.

This is what I need flash to do:

* **[Main screen] Two hundred squares (buttons) in top layer hanging in space like a coordinate grid. Outer space is behind it along with random spacecraft.

(I know this is do able)

* **When a square (button) is pushed, a new screen appears with a math problem on it and four multiple choice question buttons.

(I know this is do able)

* **Three wrong answer buttons take the player to a screen with an explosion.

(I know this is do able)

**The correct button will take the player to the [main screen], with the grid of squares (buttons) and the appropriate one will disappear and reveal what’s      underneath.

(Can flash do this?)

The main page will be different each time the player returns to it depending on which square they select because that square is now missing. The only way I can come up with is if the squares disappear in order so it can be a different slide each time. I cant make a frame for every configurations of squares selected. Well, I could but that would be a lot of squares.

I basically want selected buttons in the timeline to alter the main or first frame throughout the game.

Please help

• 1. Re: Battleship like math game and the limits of flash
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP