15 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2014 12:34 PM by dj_paige

Avoid lost or missing photos/proper exporting/backing up catalog

mcable1981

I'm an amateur photographer who mainly takes pictures of family and friends. Our PC just crashed about 4 weeks ago, so we purchased a Mac and updated Lightroom off the backup on our external hard drive as well as the old PCs internal hard drive. I have had Lightroom 4 for almost 2 years and have exported photos into various folders on both drives (external and old PC internal) in order to not lose them, print them, or simply categorize them elsewhere. For some reason, Lightroom has shown several hundred random photos as "missing or lost" THREE times since we switched to the Mac and this last time instead of erasing Lightroom completely and reloading it, I spent 4 hours hunting and gathering from a TON of various files. I realize I missed the part about exporting correctly to avoid this, but now that I have this huge mess, I have a few questions.

1. How/why does Lightroom randomly pick certain previously exported files to lose while not losing others in the exact same import in the exact same folder? How or can I program it to not do that so that I don't end up with 400+ "missing or lost" photos for the 4th time in a month?

2. How do I properly export? Obviously putting it on a desktop and/or a hard drive makes it difficult for Lightroom to find later, hence the program loses the files and I pull my hair out finding them.

3. Can I back up my catalog every time I import new photos in order to go back if Lightroom shows a vast majority of my photos as "missing or lost" again?

Thank you, in advance, for all of your help. I'm so lost, just when I thought I had it figured out.

Molly

• 1. Re: Avoid lost or missing photos/proper exporting/backing up catalog
          dj_paige Level 9