4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2014 7:50 AM by ckjhalley

Creating shapes which animate in sync with audio

ckjhalley

I have no experience with After Effects.

I wish to import an audio file of music and create shapes and animate them in time with the music.

For example have a kick drum repeating and with it, a circle which moves in time with the kick drum.

If this is possible and if someone could explain how it works then After Effects will be what I need to get.

I have in my mind that I could create a shape , and line it up some how in time with the sound.

I hope some one can help me.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Creating shapes which animate in sync with audio
          HarryHoag Level 1

Hi, I won't give you a complete step by step, but I'll give you a rough outline of how to go about this as a starting point. It'll be best if you did some tutorials + read help docs to get to grips with after effects to figure out the rest. This will be a little bit of a steep learning curve with no After Effects experience. This is a way to do animate it automatically. The simpler but time consuming way would be to time it out manually and animate it by hand.

Import your audio file as an uncompressed wav or aif. Drop it into your after effects composition. Right click on your audio layer and select Keyframe Assistant > Convert Audio to Keyframes. This will create a new null layer with custom effects sliders that contain the audio level values as keyframed values, you can see these if you roll out the null layer's effects panel.

You will then need to do some simple expressions to get these keyframed values to link to whatever you want to move in time with the music. For example if you wanted to link a circle's Y position to the keyframed values, you'd hold alt and click on the animation stopwatch for the circle's position. This will open the expression editor for the circle's position property. Then you'll need to enter something like this: