9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2014 11:26 AM by dj_paige

Storage management workflow

Jonathan.G

Hello,

I am new to LR and i need some help in finding an efficient way to manage my storage management.

I have LR running on a SSD and also have an 1TB internal hardrive.

I am planning on setting up a 4TB RAID mirror set up, just wanted to know your advice on this?

Would i save everything on the raid i.e Lightroom catalogue, photos, final edited images, (essentially everything) ... or is this not a good workflow for storage management?

Would greatly appreciate any advice & also any other alternatives on how to go about storage management.

• 1. Re: Storage management workflow
          dj_paige Level 9

Normally, you want you Lightroom catalog file on your fastest disk, unless you have some other over-riding reason for putting it elsewhere.

Normally, with Lightroom, you don't save a copy of your final edited images on your hard disks, as the final edited image can always be displayed and created by Lightroom; in other words, your exported final images are considered temporary, and deleted once their use is completed (e-mail, web, print, etc.) knowing you can re-create them again exactly as before by exporting another copy.

Your original photos can go on any online disk you want.

Backups of original photos and backups of your catalog file can go on any disk you want, online or offline.

• 2. Re: Storage management workflow
            Jonathan.G Level 1

dj_paige wrote:

Normally, with Lightroom, you don't save a copy of your final edited images on your hard disks, as the final edited image can always be displayed and created by Lightroom; in other words, your exported final images are considered temporary, and deleted once their use is completed (e-mail, web, print, etc.) knowing you can re-create them again exactly as before by exporting another copy.

Thanks for your reply but Im not sure i follow.. So if i wanted to access a final edit, how will i do so?