5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2007 4:19 PM by kglad

How not to reregister callbacks when movie loops?

dareff
      I am new to AS and Flash, so excuse this basic question...

I am trying to create a single frame application that simply shows some pictures (one at a time). The picture loads are controlled either by (a) a button being pressed or (b) a timer.

I have (a) working fine, but (b) is a little bit of a problem.

From reading the documentation on the Flash timer (setInterval and clearInterval) it appears that my movie must be at least 2 frames, since the documentation says that even if the timer time expires, it also waits until the next frame is entered.

Well, I tried simply adding a 2nd frame. Apparently that is not the correct answer, since every time I press a button, the trace is showing that the button event listener function is being registered over and over again... For example, the first time I hit the button, it calls the button callback function once. The second time, it calls the button callback function more than once (i.e. 2+ times).

How do I stop these multiple registrations of the event listeners from happening, so I can actually use the timer functionality?

Thanks in advance.
        • 1. Re: How not to reregister callbacks when movie loops?
          Level 7
          dareff,

> From reading the documentation on the Flash timer (setInterval
          > and clearInterval) it appears that my movie must be at least 2
          > frames, since the documentation says that even if the timer time
          > expires, it also waits until the next frame is entered.

I'm curious what line of the docs suggested this to you. setInterval()
          functions just fine in a single-frame SWF. For example, check out this
          basic sample ...

var i:Number = 1;
          var id:Number = setInterval(test, 500);
          function test():Void {
          if (i++ == 3) clearInterval(id);
          trace("Test successful.");
          }