3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2014 5:36 AM by JJMack

Create Script to Append a Filename as Part of an Action

AJPhotoshopBeginner Level 1

I have an image, and I have a handy action that saves it, crops it, saves it again, crops it differently, and saves it one more time. Right now, I have two options for those saves--I can either save each crop in a separate folder and then batch rename, or I have the action pause as it saves so I can customize the filename. What I would like to do is create a script (or, if there's an easier way), to append that filename so it will all just save in the same folder without my having to do it manually.

Essentially I start with the filename: "TEST"

for the first part, it I save as "TEST"

for the second save, I want it to save as "TEST_P1"

for the third save, I want it to save as "TEST_P2"

I'm brand new to scripting, and my programming background is with Java and way in my past, so it all feels a bit unfamiliar. If anyone could help me with this, I'd really appreciate it!

• 1. Re: Create Script to Append a Filename as Part of an Action
          JJMack Most Valuable Participant

An other option is to use the Image Processor Pro script. You would  create several actions to do the different crops you want make to the original size document not a crop of crop of a crop down to the final crop.  Have no saves at all in these actions. Then just use meny File>Automate>Image Processor Pro.  Set up its dialog to save the file names you want to where you want them saved create.  You could also record that into an action. The images processor pro script is a Photoshop Plug-in.  It will record the setting you used in its dialog into the action step.    You can also save the dialog setup for future use in the IPP dialog before you run the process you set up.