6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 15, 2014 1:51 PM by fillyrboots

Separate start/stop action for background sound?

fillyrboots Level 1

Hello,

First, let me preface this question with the caveat that I am a complete amateur when it comes to flash and anything I have accomplished thus far is by simply winging it.  Therefore, if my question seems rather inane, there is a good reason why.

My situation is as follows...

I am creating a soundboard and would like to have background noise available to loop for the user to activate/stop at any time, and so I would like its activation/stopping action to be separately controlled from the rest of the sounds on the board.

That is to say that the other sounds on the board are started and stopped via the spacebar, which I have accomplished just fine, but I am running into great difficulty when trying to get the background noise to start and stop with a mouse-click.

I have created a button for it and attempted to use a 'code snippet' for the start/stop action, but when testing, it starts with the click (like anything else), but stops with the spacebar.

As I said, I realize this is likely pretty elementary to those well-versed in flash, but I would appreciate any insight into what I might be doing wrong here.

Thanks very much!

• 1. Re: Separate start/stop action for background sound?
          robdillon Most Valuable Participant

From your description it sounds like you are not using sound objects for each of your sounds. You can have 8 sounds playing at any time using sound objects. Each sound can then be independently controlled. The sounds can be imported into the movie, or they can be loaded from a server at runtime.

A very simple alternative to using sound objects is to place the sounds into their own individual movieClips and play and stop those movieClips. If you are using SoundMixer.stopAll(); that will always stop all sounds from playing, so you don't want to use that.