6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2007 11:10 AM by jlm23

Is Flex2 strictly a "programmers" application?

chinfl
      My experience creating applications is with Flash MX and Authorware. I am not a programmer. Should I consider Flex2 or will it be difficult to get up to speed where I am not a programmer.
        • 1. Re: Is Flex2 strictly a "programmers" application?
          peterent Level 2
          We're doing a couple of things to bridge the gap with Flash designers. If you do use Flash, you've probably written your fair share of ActionScript. There's really not much more you can do with Flash beyond simple tweens without using ActionScript.

In Flash 9 the ActionScript will be the same version (3) as with Flex. That will help a lot. Secondly, Flex starts off with all the familiar Flash classes, like Numbers and String, but also MovieClips and events. We've built a robust set of user interface controls in Flex that would be a challenge to build yourself in Flash. You are now more free to work with those and tie them together using events and Flex data-binding (so you don't have to write as much ActionScript).

That said, you'll find that you need to write ActionScript. Sometimes a lot of it, sometimes not so much. Where Flex is used most often, the corporate environment, designers and developers work together to build a project. Designers work on the styles and skins, adding in Flash elements. The developers hook up the elements using ActionScript and fill the controls with data from the services.

If you are a one-person shop, then you have to wear both hats. It would be similar to being a designer who wants to build a home but doesn't have any construction skills. If you want to do it yourself, you have to add new skills. And that makes you more marketable.
          • 2. Re: Is Flex2 strictly a "programmers" application?
            JohnLeger Level 1