5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2014 9:35 PM by fastnoc

Can someone explain two pass encoding and tell me why i would use it?

fastnoc Level 1

I'm somewhat new to AE, Been using it only for about 1.4 years, however I've produced around 200 videos (short effects clips).

I don't understand some things, and one of them is the two pass encoding option.

Clearly there's a reason for it but I did a search and I don't find much explaining why i would use it.

Can someone help a relative newbie?

• 1. Re: Can someone explain two pass encoding and tell me why i would use it?
          fastnoc Level 1

By the way, I did find this:?

VBR, 2 Pass

Variable bitrate, with the encoder making two passes through the file, from beginning to end, and then from end to beginning. The second pass prolongs the process, but it ensures greater encoding efficiency, and often a higher-quality output.

But i don't understand how it would ensure greater efficiency? if I understand it right it renders forward then backwards. How does that help?

• 2. Re: Can someone explain two pass encoding and tell me why i would use it?
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP