12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 26, 2015 5:13 PM by A.T. Romano

unwanted cropping on imported video file

duphus1970

Hi

im new to prem elements.  The problem is on trying to import a DV file (MPEG I think) the clip plays fine but is missing the right hand side 20% of the frame.  It plays fine in widows media player and it worked fine in the trial version of prem elements 13 ?  can anybody assist, its very frustrating ?

Thanks

• 1. Re: unwanted cropping on imported video file
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The 2 links for importing video, and project settings, may help - Several Premiere Elements Help and Tutorial Links

• 2. Re: unwanted cropping on imported video file
            A.T. Romano Level 7

duphus1970

Are you saying that you now have the purchased Premiere Elements 13, and there you are experiencing the problem that you report?

What computer operating system is your Premiere Elements 13 running on?

From what you wrote, export is not involved in the problem. Rather the issue targets the view of the file in the Edit area monitor after import. Is that correct?

When you say that 20% of the frame is missing, what is there within the Edit area monitor - black borders - where top, bottom, left, right?

You need to know the properties of your source, and then you (manually) or the project (automatically) needs to set the project preset to match those properties.

Please tell us what you see Edit Menu/Project Settings/General and the readings for Editing Mode, Timebase, Frame Size, and Pixel Aspect Ratio (even if the fields look grayed out). If the video came from a camera, if you let us know the brand/model/settings for the camera that recorded the video, we could get a the properties of the source.

We will be watching for further information.

Thank you.

ATR

• 3. Re: unwanted cropping on imported video file
              duphus1970 Level 1

Hi there

Many thanks for the reply.  Your help is appreciated.