2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2014 4:14 AM by marcmandy

Sync keywords?

marcmandy

Hello,

I am new to LR.  I believe this is part of the point, but I want to be certain before I undertake the next step of my project.

I have just created a catalog with all of my work over the past 25+ years.  The photos themselves are located on an external drive (actually 3 of 'em, but I only will use this drive as my master).  I used the Standard Build in my catalog creating a 25gb preview file, which I anticipated after trying different options.  However, I have to now apply keywords to this mountain of images.

My first and most important question is this: I am about to travel and while I can work on the computer, attaching the external drive would be cumbersome on a plane.  If I apply keywords to the catalog files, will those keywords then be synced to the images on the hard drive when I reconnect the drive to Lightroom?

and that raises a second question:  Are the keywords then embedded in the images so that if I create a new catalog on a second computer with the same images now copied from the external drive to that computer, when I create the catalog, will the keywords appear in the new catalog?

Thanks for your assistance on so basic a question!

marc

• 1. Re: Sync keywords?
          john beardsworth Adobe Community Professional & MVP

"If I apply keywords to the catalog files, will those keywords then be synced to the images on the hard drive when I reconnect the drive to Lightroom?"

Yes.

"Are the keywords then embedded in the images so that if I create a new catalog on a second computer with the same images now copied from the external drive to that computer, when I create the catalog, will the keywords appear in the new catalog?"