6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 24, 2014 6:05 AM by JimHess

How to make Lightroom reflect changes made in Finder?

ailie Level 1

I'm new to Lightroom so am still getting used to the interface.

I have a video (mp4) in one of my Lightroom folders and I wanted to rotate it because it was sideways, so I found the file in Finder, opened it in Quicktime Pro, rotated it and saved the change. But when I view the video in Lightroom it is still sideways. Why doesn't Lightroom reflect the change? Is it not reading the video file when it plays it?

Even more generally, if I move a photo from one folder into another in Finder, this change is also not reflected in Lightroom. Is there a way I can have it "refresh" and see these changes?

• 1. Re: How to make Lightroom reflect changes made in Finder?
          elie-d Level 4

In the Library grid view the thumbnail  of the moved photo will have an exclamation point icon on it; click on it and a window asking if you want to re-establish contact by locating the photo will open. Click on "Locate" and a navigation box will open. Go to wherever it is that you moved the photo to and select it. If you moved several photos, check the "Find nearby missing photos" box.

• 2. Re: How to make Lightroom reflect changes made in Finder?
            dj_paige Level 9

Even more generally, if I move a photo from one folder into another in Finder, this change is also not reflected in Lightroom. Is there a way I can have it "refresh" and see these changes?

Lightroom was not designed to do this. You can manually help lightroom find these moved files, but there is no automatic function to do so.