7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2007 12:41 AM by phil knox

Opening pdf's

4winns
      Greetings, I am new to Director and would like to include pdf files on a CD I am creating. I will use my export my director project to a projector. I would like to link to these pdf's from a page within my training package and have them open. I could use a little direction on how to make this happen.

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Opening pdf's
          TzKennedy
          You need to get the Impressario xtra from INM ( http://www.inm.com/products/impressario/) - this will let you integrate PDFs within your project with various options. Otherwise, as far as I know, you can only launch PDFs from a Director movie externally.

Good luck!

TzK.
          • 2. Re: Opening pdf's
            Level 7
            You can use INM's Impressario or PDF Xtras... Impressario does not require
            Adobe Acrobat Reader where their PDF Xtra is reliant on Acrobat Reader. Both
            of these products allow you to view a PDF document within your
            projector/shockwave. You can open outside of your projector utilizing basic
            open lingo (or recommend Buddy API)

(Another option is to convert to Flash paper and insert as a SWF).

Michael Hamstra
            Adobe Community Expert

INM's Impressario or PDF Xtras
            http://www.inm.com

Buddy API (2 functions Free)
            http://www.mods.com.au/budapi

• 3. Opening pdf's
              SafariTECH Level 1
              Another way is to include the runtime portion of Adobe Reader on the CD then use the OPEN / WITH command telling the computer to open [this pdf] with [this program] using the exact file path for each.

"the MoviePath" will always equal the projector path, so then you just adjust that path to match the location of the reader and the file.