9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2007 11:23 AM by davidmedifit

Newbie question. coldFusion w/ Flex 2 tutorial

Realtoast
      Hello.

I am very new to F2 and CF. Fairly proficient at Flash, DW, css, html, etc. I have purchased and worked through a couple really great F2 and CF books. I am able to construct some good basic stuff with either. But am not really finding a tutorial or book that is exclusively committed just to the subject of to using CF with Flex 2. There always seems to be a just a cursory mention, or a brush-by, but not much more than that. I get it: if you got this far, you probably arlready know everything about the two and shouldn't need such.

If you could point me to a couple good references, I'd be very appreciative. I'm looking for a good step-by-step, just on this subject.
        • 1. Re: Newbie question. coldFusion w/ Flex 2 tutorial
          Robert S Level 1
          What specifically are you looking to do with both? Flex and CF are somewhat exclusive of one another... I use CF to retrieve data from SQL servers via RemoteObject and print PDF forms from Flex 2 using simple URLRequest calls with post variables. Other than that, CF is no longer my primary coding platform. Flex is poised as a non-refreshing application where CF is a server side scripting language (refreshing required). Thus, the two would not typically be used in the same page. Am I wrong in my thinking? Blasting welcome...

That being said, I can't have one without the other - Flex would be useless to me without a back-end server...

The only two sources that I have found so far that really are GREAT! are Flex 2 Essential Training and Flex 2 Beyond the Basics... both By David Gassner (you can find them on Amazon.com). They are expensive as they are DVD training systems @ 99.95 / each... I am buying books as soon as they come off the shelves, but there just aren't very many out there.
          • 2. Re: Newbie question. coldFusion w/ Flex 2 tutorial