5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 27, 2014 2:06 PM by ssprengel

Color discrepancy between Lightroom and Camera Raw

Adchu1996chu

I'm new to LR and came across a color issue when viewing the photos in LR.

When view the RAW in LR, I see a color discrepancy compare with ACR. The color in LR is more like the JPEG view in Windows Photo Viewer (an non color-managed application). I suspect it's a color space config but can't find any in LR as in PS.

When I changed my monitor's ICC profile to "SRGB IEC61966-2.1", all the applications, LR, ACR, WPV, look the same then. It's said that profile just for troubleshooting and should change back to monitor's profile. Can someone help to explain what's happen and what should I do to get consistent color? Thanks a lot!

• 1. Re: Color discrepancy between Lightroom and Camera Raw
          ssprengel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It sounds like the monitor profile from the monitor manufacturer is not compatible with LR.  This is a common problem, and you have confirmed it by temporarily switching to sRGB.

If the only profiles you have available are sRGB (which is consistent but may be wrong) and the monitor profile (which doesn’t work) then for more accurate color you’ll need to buy a hardware calibrator. 

I use the i1DisplayPro.  Others might use a Spyder or a ColorMunki, although the i1DisplayPro has some more detailed options for creating profiles (Matrix vs LUT or ICCv2 vs ICCv4) that can be necessary to make LR happy, or at least my preference is to have a more powerful program in case I do need to tweak things.  I haven’t ever used a ColorMunki or Spyder so perhaps they work fine, too.  I think the color-measuring hardware with the i1 is better, though.  I guess you get what you pay for.

• 2. Re: Color discrepancy between Lightroom and Camera Raw
            Adchu1996chu Level 1