12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 28, 2014 4:00 PM by John Waller

Dreamweaver vs Drupal/WordPress

Geobop Level 1

I have a series of websites that based on a simple CMS I've been playing with for several years. I've long contemplated upgrading to a professional CMS, probably Drupal or WordPress, but I have so many questions I hardly know where to begin.

One big question is how am I going to translate all the customization I've spent years working on into another CMS language?

With that in mind, I wondered if anyone with Drupal or WordPress experience can tell me to what degree either program would "lock me in." There are two primary things I want from a CMS:

1) The ability to add special features (either built in or with plugins), rather than have to develop them myself.

2) A stable, responsive page design.

Is there some way to set Drupal or WordPress up in such a way that the basics (e.g. page design and display) are taken care of, but you can at the same time create what you might call a sandbox or workshop where you can more or less import your customizations and hacks? For example, I have my sisters set up so that certain URL's trigger background colors or images, or URL's belonging to a particular series trigger a nav index related to that series.

Also, when people upgrade to programs like Drupal or WordPress, how does it affect their Dreamweaver usage? Do some people abandon Dreamweaver altogether, or can Dreamweaver still be used as one's primary tool when working with something like Drupal or WordPress?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Dreamweaver vs Drupal/WordPress
          Rob Hecker2 Adobe Community Professional & MVP

That's a lot of questions, and the overall answer is, "it depends."

Moving your data and design from one CMS to another is almost always going to be a lot of work directly in the database.

Does WP and Drupal lock you in? Yes. You can't, for example, use a WP plugin in Drupal without serious re-coding.