9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2014 6:33 AM by trshaner

Lightroom cause HDMI projector to flash on and off

Jim_Palik Level 1

I am a photography teacher in Germany and recently experienced an unusual phenomena.
      The school I teach at has just purchased a very high end HDMI projector. (cost the school 40,000 Euros). The quality of projection is incredible. However, When I review images in Lightroom, the projector periodically flashes on and off. This does not show on the screen of my notebook connected to the monitor. I am the only one having this problem and it only happens when I am in Lightroom. The IT support staff have not been able to figure it out (and they are very good).

Below are my system details:

I am using an HP EliteBook that is about 18 months old.

The computer does not have an HDMI connector but the docking station has a DisplayPort connector

I am using the computer on the docking station with a DisplayPort to HDMI cable connected to the projector.

I have no problems using Power Point or Windows Photo Viewer.

As soon as  I open Lightroom the projected image begins to periodically Flash on and off.

I am using Lightroom 5.3.

When doing a lecture to 70 students, this is real disconcerting to say the least.

Does anyone have any ides why this is happening?

Jim

• 1. Re: Lightroom cause HDMI projector to flash on and off
          trshaner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Jim you posted this same exact issue on July 5, 2014 here:

Projector problems using Lightroom

It sounds like the HDCP communication link between the projector and the laptop is being lost.