1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 2, 2014 12:40 PM by dj_paige

missing and offline photos

Brbhilt

Using LR 5.6, windows.I just discovered I have missing or offline photos. I got this message when I tried to export photos and was unable to because of this message. I just installed a free trial of OnOne to use as a plug in, and that's when this happened. I don't know if its related to my problem or not, but I suspect its got something to do with me moving folders around on my hard drive. I always export to my hard drive (I have a windows PC),and I do tend to move them around a bit, as I sometimes make copies to diff folders. Now I have a bunch of folders in LR that I need to re-organize. I'm new at this and need to know how to fix this and then how to organize properly.  Right now I over 500 photos that are "missing." I see an exclamation point in the upper right hand of the photo. Yesterday I could see the photo and the exclamation point. Today I don't see the photos, just a greyed out area where the photo should be and I see the exclamation point.   I've sinced looked up this problem and found a resource in the LR "computer darkroom" with instructions on how to find missing or moved photos and folders. I thought I'd fixed the problem by right clicking on each folder and finding the location on my hard drive. While at first this seemed to correct the problem, today I no longer have a ? on a folder, but the photos cant be seen.  Another problem is my catalog backup. On my hardrive I see two previous backups that have all the question marked folders (even after I thought I fixed them) and now I have more missing folders. HELP. I wish I could talk with someone on the phone...but the only option I'm routed to is this forum. Can I delete or rename my existing folders in LR so I can start over or will I lose everything?  Right now I'm afraid to back up anything or to even look at my backups. I also have a question about the option to "set up hard drive." Is this a one time de