3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2014 1:47 AM by xXdragonetXx

Joining pictures

xXdragonetXx

Hey,

I just started practicing indesign and already came up with a problem.

So I'm trying to create a background with a pattern for my business card. Thing is I'm using a pattern which I created in photoshop, and it's in jpeg.

I bring it to indesign, and I use "step and repeat" to get it cover the whole background.

Then I go to path finder and try to combine them to single object, but when I do this it deletes/hides every "copy" it has done from the picture and only original remains. Though picture frames remains covering the whole background still. With objects created in indesign it doesn't do this, so my guess is it has something to do with it being picture and linked.

So what am I doing wrong, how can I do this that I can get it how I wanted?

• 1. Re: Joining pictures
          vinny38 Level 4

Hi,

Pathfinder addition merges all object into a single one.

An object (frame) can only contains one picture.

This is why only one picture "remains"...

Now, I don't see why you want to use pathfinder.

You can simply group all your frames.

Or, you might also create your entire background in Photoshop...

• 2. Re: Joining pictures
            Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Pathfinder only works on vector elements, not raster elements.

Your picture is basically in a container called a Picture Frame.

This Picture Frame has got vector elements, which you can add/remove points to with the pen tool and reshape the frame to any shape you like using the vector tools - even the pencil tool around a selected picture frame will alter the shape of the frame.

The Picture/Graphic is in inside this container - and you can select the picture by double clicking the picture frame and the colour of the outline changes to brown (if you're on layer 1 and the layer identifier is blue).