5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2014 7:27 AM by ECBowen

Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti and GPU

M1CK3Y

I’m pretty much a newbie when it comes to the technical guts of After Effects VS graphics cards (and more in-depth hardware aspects of optimizing your machine for video editing, for that matter) so - be gentle :-)

Unbeknownst to me, I went ahead and bought a new graphics card hoping it would speed up my rendering time, only to find out that particular card wasn’t supported by AE (or so it appears).

Is there any way around it?

I thought that no matter what graphics card I buy, it’d work with AE. After all, it’s Nvidia and it’s way better than my previous card which was the GeForce 9600 GS.

I read through the supported card list published by Adobe and found out that all cards are pretty much supported except the 750 models. Is that correct?

I hope you can help me out here as, like I said, I’m an amateur and some of you have sat in the field since forever and know all there is to know about building an “editing station”.

Have a quick read through my specs and tell me how I could optimize my machine to get a decent performance out of it. By decent I mean enough to relatively quickly go about rendering and working with say up to 1 minute HD clips.

I mean, I try to create quite elaborate sequences (such as intros and logo animations) from scratch so I do employ all the appropriate elements like multiple light sources and camera movements and try to use all tools AE offers. So we’re not talking about simple 2D text flying around.

Maybe you can suggest some budget hardware I could put together to get as much juice out of my PC as possible. Just so you know my financial limitations, I can say that by saying “budget” I’m thinking hundreds rather than thousands.

Here are my specs as copied from Speccy:

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

CPU:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40GHz

RAM:

7.00GB Dual-Channel DDR2 @ 333MHz (5-5-5-15)

MOTHERBOARD: