7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2014 4:16 AM by CrackDown

Layered smoke problems

CrackDown

Hello,

I have a panning shot of a field that I want to fill with layers of smoke, almost fog, to give the effect of depth. I've managed to create the smoke effect fine using CC Particle World, and I've used a 3D camera tracker to track the panning movements, and I can create the desired effect, sort of. The problem is I want to duplicate the smoke effect, so I can create layers, and I'm having trouble to do so. Here's the breakdown of problems, and bear with me I'm still kind of new to After Effects.

1) If I create separate compositions of the video, bring them all into a master composition and add the effects there for each one, this seems to work, but I need to add a time-remap to each one to slow the smoke down, but it appears the time remap doesn't apply to the effect unless the effect is in the individual composition itself.

2) If i create the smoke effect in the single compositions (say Smoke1, Smoke2 etc), then the time remapping seems to just 'turn off' the smoke effect for some reason. I can't figure out why, but the smoke disappears when I create a time remap.

3) I can't seem to just duplicate a smoke effect for 1 composition and have say 7 or 8 variations of the CC particle world, so I can dot them about the shot on varying Z-axis depths. (to create the depth of field I want)

4) Do I need a 3D tracker for each composition, or can they run off the same one?

It's all a bit confusing at the moment, I'm not sure if I'm meant to be referencing individual compositions in a master, or what. Is it a simple case of creating a new comp, add a solid, add the smoke effect to that solid, then load the comp into a master comp. It doesn't seem to do what I want it to do if I try that.

Thanks in advance, I'm sorry if this doesn't come across very clear.

SM01

• 1. Re: Layered smoke problems
          bogiesan Level 4