7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2006 9:46 AM by jocyflossy

help creating/updating external links

jocyflossy
      Hi,

I'm a newbie to DW8, previously most familiar with DW4. In DW8, I cannot figure out how to create or update external links (to websites), such that when I click on that text or image on my site, an external webpage will open in the same (or new) window.

I read in the help section that in the 'edit link' section I'm meant to enter the absolute URL. My problem is that it still wants me to specify some local file or folder to find that link within. This does not make any sense to me! There must be a really simple way to right-click on any text on my site and create a hyperlink to an external webpage?

many thanks!

Els
        • 1. Re: help creating/updating external links
          Level 7
          In the Link box of the property inspector, type the full url; including the
          protocal of http://

http://www.example.com/thepage.html

suggestion- copy the full url from a browser window's address bar to avoid
          typos.

> I'm meant to enter
          > the absolute URL. My problem is that it still wants me to specify some local
          > file or folder to find that link within.

• 2. Re: help creating/updating external links
            Level 7
            Select the text/image in Design view, then just at the footer of the page,
            you will see the structure of the page <body> etc etc - select the <a> tag,
            which is corresponding to your link - and in the Property Inspector, type
            the URL you want to link to - http://blah... and make sure you hit Enter or
            Return when you have typed the last character of the URL. Done.

Brendon

"jocyflossy" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
            news:ehopnk$mtj$1@forums.macromedia.com...
            > Hi,
            >
            > I'm a newbie to DW8, previously most familiar with DW4. In DW8, I cannot