5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2014 6:39 AM by Szalam

Changing the camera preset during animation...

Jack Gruber

... I'm new in AE CC and recently created a 3d cube following this tutorial The 3D Cube in After Effects - YouTube.

All 6 sites have now different animation running. What I want to have is that the camera should move inside the cube

but in order to watch the sites animations the preset should be changed to 15 mm as soon as the middle of the cube is reached.

The standard 50 mm camera can't be modified in the time line, starting with 15 mm camera from the beginning lets the cube

looking weird...... any suggestions?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Changing the camera preset during animation...
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You can animate the zoom level of the camera if that's what you want to change.

• 2. Re: Changing the camera preset during animation...
            Jack Gruber Level 1

I was playing with the zoom levels of different camera presets but the levels applies to the entire composition only.

What I want is to have the 50 mm preset until a certain time frame and then change it to wide angle 15 mm once the

cube middle point is reached.....

• 3. Re: Changing the camera preset during animation...
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Select your camera layer and press the A key twice. Now click the stopwatch on any of the properties you see including zoom level. A standard 50mm lens has a zoom value of 2666.6667 pixels. Once you have enabled animation of the zoom value you can either drag the value around in the Timeline or you can double click on the camera and change the lens settings there. Your project should look like this: