5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2007 1:14 PM by ctzn99

trouble removing error please help

ankmit
      hi,
      i am relatively new in flex. i have to display an image whose source should come from the column of a datagrid when i click the column. i tried the following code(given in flex documentation): -

// Retrieve the image associated with the item selected in the grid.
      private function getImage():void {
      var cartGrid = dgrid;
      var imageSource:String = 'images/' + cartGrid.getSelectedIndex() + '.jpg';
      image1.load(imageSource);
      }

and recieved the following error: -
      1008: var 'cartGrid' has no type declaration.

i dont know what to do now please help in this regard
        • 1. Re: trouble removing error please help
          ankmit Level 1
          waiting for your response
          • 2. Re: trouble removing error please help
            ctzn99
            cartGrid needs to be declared as a specific data type, from your post it looks like it's trying to be a datagrid so the line that reads

var cartGrid = dgrid;

should be

var cartGrid:DataGrid = dgrid;
            • 3. Re: trouble removing error please help
              ankmit Level 1
              thanks for this response i will try this and tell you the result

thanks again
              • 4. Re: trouble removing error please help
                ankmit Level 1
                your code removes the previous error but gives a new one : -

1061: Call to a possibly undefined method getSelectedIndex through a reference with static type mx.controls:DataGrid.

probably it needs to be defined as some othere dat type i am pasting the source documentation frome where i picked the code may be that can tell you where the problem might be: -

In the next example, you use the index number of the selected item in a data grid to determine the image to load. In this example, images are named 1.jpg, 2.jpg, 3.jpg, and so on, corresponding to items in the grid.