10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2014 9:13 PM by Migintosh

Font issue between PC and Mac. Options?

behnazutx Level 1

Hi.

I have been working for several months on a book that I have designed in InDesign. I was using the PC version of InDesign. I just purchased a new Macbook, and I am now beginning with a trial of InDesign for Mac.

As soon as I tried to imported my .indd file into InDesign on my Mac, I encountered an issue with fonts. Most of the fonts that I had used in my design do not work on the Mac version. InDesign gave me the option to 'Change' to comparable fonts. I figured I would try to see how I can adjust the manuscript and make this work. I immediately encountered other issues (for e.g., Minion Pro is a font that I did manage to use with InDesign in Mac, but it would not let me use the Italics version of Minion Pro. It is important that a number of elements in my book be italics, so I need to have a font that offers the distinction (and ideally, would not make me go back in manually and re-italicize everything.)

I spend about an hour or two researching this issue today. It seems there are a few options (including purchasing/downloading fonts and a few different software programs that handle that.) I would just like advice from those who navigated this issue on my best option/s.

Specifically these are the fonts from my original design on my PC that are missing on the Mac version.

Adobe Caslon Pro

Adobe Caston Pro Bold

Adobe Caslon Pro Italic

Adobe Devangari Italic

Adobe Garamond Pro

Adobe Garamond Pro

Adobe Garamond Pro Bold

Adobe Garamond Pro Italic

Constantia

Constantina Italic

Minion Pro Bold Cond

Minion Pro Italic

Palatino Linotype

Palatino Linotype Italic