5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 25, 2014 8:43 AM by A.T. Romano

How do I trim the sound track along with the video? (With sound on a separate track)

Andreas Jansson Level 2

I've got a video file and a separate sound track. When trimming, to get rid of unwanted parts of the film, this only affects the video, not the audio track.

I'm a beginner at this, hopefully there is a simple answer.

• 1. Re: How do I trim the sound track along with the video? (With sound on a separate track)
          Andreas Jansson Level 2

Now I discovered that by selecting the video, and clicking the scissors, and the selecting the audio track and again clicking the scissors, I can then trim the video and the audio to the same point in time, by movding the end points of the two clips one by one.

But there has to be a way to link the audio with the video, so that it don't have to do everything twice, right? Please?

• 2. Re: How do I trim the sound track along with the video? (With sound on a separate track)
            Andreas Jansson Level 2

Well, I found a way to do simplify the first step.

Click in the grey area just above the tracks, to select all tracks. Then the scissors action will affect (cut) video and audio.

But the actual trimming still seems to affect only one track at a time. Is there a better way to do this?

area to click.PNG

By grouping the separate video and audio track I get the same effect as selecting all tracks, that is I only need to use the scissors once, but with the tracks grouped, the "bracket" icon doesn't show up when I hover the mouse pointer over the scene "limits". Trimming seems disabled with the tracks grouped.

Having used the program for a couple of hours now, I got used to it. Not a big problem having to select the tracks.

• 3. Re: How do I trim the sound track along with the video? (With sound on a separate track)
              A.T. Romano Level 7

Andreas