12 Replies Latest reply on Dec 25, 2014 12:23 PM by Mykill G

Another After Effects 2D Question

Mykill G Level 1

So, I have read different forum posts here as well a other communities. I always read that I need specifics, so I will try to be as specific as possible.

I want to know if After Effects is the right program for the type of 2D animation i'm trying to achieve.

I also should make it clear that I am new to motion graphics and may get some terminology wrong. I would say I have a pretty firm grip on Photoshop and Illustrator; I'm a designer for a screen printing shop by trade. I also have a limited but functional knowledge of Premiere and am in the midst of editing 2 music videos. I have always been interested in animation and video but did not have the resources ($23,000 for 2.5 years) to study it at the Art Institute of Houston. I am mainly self taught by way of lynda.com. I have NO PROBLEM doing the training and taking a long time to develop my skill to the level I believe they need to be, but I don't really want to learn 2 different animation software programs unless absolutely necessary.

I would like to produce an animated music video for a band that will have about a 4 minute run time. The style of animation is NOT Disney, but more or less South Park (cut-out?). More specifically, the intro sequence to the 2014 season. I have read that SP uses Maya, which with my limited knowledge seems a little bit overkill. The intro sequence looks at times 3D, but I am confident I can fake the look with proper texture, shading, placement, shadows and zooming.  In reality, what I want to accomplish is somewhere between the look of the intro and the actual show. The end result is a video for view on YouTube, Vimeo, etc for view on desktop computers and smartphones/tablets. TV is not the goal (although I guess it would be nice).

I think I would create the characters as vectors in AI, and perhaps bring them into Photoshop for texture.