21 Replies Latest reply on Dec 31, 2014 4:38 AM by dj_paige

importing

FarmerKrach Level 1

Lightroom will neither import pictures from my camera card nor my iPhone.  I only get the message, "...because they cannot be read."  What do I do?

• 1. Re: importing
          dj_paige Level 9

There are dozens of threads in this forum that explain how to fix this problem.

• 2. Re: importing
            FarmerKrach Level 1

dj, I have tried many of them to no avail.  Do you have one to suggest that will work 9 out of 10 times?  I am brand new to Lightroom, just installing it yesterday and have followed all the step by step procedures already.

• 3. Re: importing
              dj_paige Level 9

Could you state the details of what you tried?

• 4. Re: importing
                FarmerKrach Level 1

I have tried listening to several Youtubes detailing the details of the step by step order to set the import up, but do not see any specific answers on this blog site. dj, do you see something incorrect  from my screen shots?Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 2.52.34 PM.pngScreen Shot 2014-12-29 at 2.54.05 PM.pngScreen Shot 2014-12-29 at 2.54.55 PM.png

• 5. Re: importing
                  dj_paige Level 9

You do not have WRITE permission to the Destination directory, which is Users\Family\2014\December 29

Change your permissions

• 6. Re: importing
                    FarmerKrach Level 1

I presume that I am trying to put the pictures into its own separate folder called "family?"  Where is the WRITE "permission" box that I need to check?  By the way, it was really easy to keep fifty thousand pictures in my many different, Aperture library folders; will I be able to generate and continually place pictures into different folders like I used to in Aperture? I'm also not really sure how or why all those dates and users names are listed under "Users" because I'm the only one going to use Lightroom? How do I delete them? Thanks very much, dj.

Screen Shot 2014-12-29 at 3.26.07 PM.png