5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2015 9:41 PM by Ultimaweapon

Best method for this effect

Ultimaweapon Level 1

So i'm having a bit of trouble in after effects again, and i'd love to knoow what is the best way to approach my intentions for this. I've created a solid 2d layer background and ontop of that is a heart png (Picture) in which i made screen pump effect to the beat of a song using scale expressions in my precomp layer. This part worked out fine and is in sync with the beat. I My problem now is when i use the motion tile effect in my pre-comp layer on the heart png they all pump together making it look like the whole screen is pumping and not the actual hearts. I also used a camera to zoom in and out and making these hearts look 3D and it still looks like a mess. I want it to look like the hearts are individually pumping and not like the whole screen is coming at you. Again I am new to after effects and any help would be appreciated very much.

Here is an example of my project if you guys need a visual exhibition (It looks horrendous right now and needs a l)

hearts colored - YouTube

Please help it looks so ugly lol

• 1. Re: Best method for this effect
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The problem is that all of the hearts and the background are in unison both with the beat and with scale. If there were really individual hearts beating then the distance between the hearts would change. The tilt also adds to the visual confusion, especially when it changes direction, and there seems to be no motivation for the movement . You've just got way too much going on in the scene. The eye and the brain are going to focus on one thing and interpret that first and then look for other things of interest. When you scale all of the hearts the same and throw in the tilt move you have given the eye and the brain so much to look at with no focal point that you end up with the visual perception that you're just zooming in on a still image.