5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2015 10:24 AM by Szalam

Lyric video/ kinetic typography help (beginner)

jairdm

Hi Everyone,

I am quite new to after effects but have watched a lot of tutorials to gain some fundamental knowledge.

My first project is a lyric video I am creating for a school assignment. My goal is to have 3d lyrics spin around an object.

I created the lyrics in photoshop and was wondering whether to merge them all before importing to after effects or if I should keep each line as a separate layer (in photoshop).

Also I want to add a few particle effects to certain words (so 'fire' has flames and 'frozen' has an cold blue effect. Is it possible to apply particle effects to a specific word and have the particles follow that word as it spins, and if so how?

By the way, I will be using Trapcode's layer emitter for this part.

Lastly, how do I synchronize layer animations so that if I want to change the speed/position of my lyrics it don't have to meticulously adjust each line.

Thank you to everyone who helps me with these questions and for your other contributions to the After Effects community. You have all made the daunting task of learning this complicated program a lot smoother and easier for me. Without these forums and tutorial sites I would be completely lost.

• 1. Re: Lyric video/ kinetic typography help (beginner)
          Andrew Yoole MVP & Adobe Community Professional

jairdm wrote:

My goal is to have 3d lyrics spin around an object.

I created the lyrics in photoshop and was wondering whether to merge them all before importing to after effects or if I should keep each line as a separate layer (in photoshop).

I you need to manipulate them line by line, or word by word, then keep them layered according to that requirement.  So, if you aim to animate each word individually, you're best off making sure each word is a separate layer before importing to AE.