4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2015 11:41 AM by nelsbangerter

Title Tool questions...

nelsbangerter Level 1

I'm a professional feature doc editor new to Premiere from FCP7.  I'm creating titles in a project and running into very annoying inconveniences with the implementation of titling in Premiere.  I understand how it's working -- each title references a particular instance, so changing a title using the tool changes all other instances of that title.  But this is causing me hell and I don't understand why it works that way...

To modify a title without changing previous versions of my timeline, here's what I have to do:

1. Open the title tool.  (okay, fine.)

2. Create New Title.   (sure, if you insist)

3. Name the new title (Why doesn't it populate the name with the previous name!?)

4. Edit the title (great).

5. Find the title I've created in the Project (why can't I send titles to a specific bin?! -- or can I?)

6. Hold Alt & drag the title into its old position (ugh mouse mouse mouse -- is there a keyboard command that would do this?).

7. Find the title I've created in the Project again.  Move it to a bin with the other titles.

In FCP it worked like this:

1. Edit the title.

To create a new title based on an old title in Premiere here's what I have to do:

1. Open the title tool.  (okay, fine.)

2. Create New Title.   (sure, if you insist)

3. Name the new title (Why doesn't it populate the name with the previous name!?)

4. Edit the title (great).

5. Add the title to the project.

7. Find the title I've created in the Project.  Move it to a bin with the other titles.

In FCP it worked like this:

1. Copy & Paste an old title.

2. Edit the title.