15 Replies Latest reply on Jan 11, 2015 8:39 PM by mschubb

4k Freakout!  Drive speed bottlenecks?

mschubb Level 1

Been very happy w/ my 3-year-old CS6 drive setup (thanks to Harm’s recommendations) but I just started shooting a doc in 4K with the Panasonic GH4 and can't believe how fast 4K eats storage.    Have to upgrade my media drives before I transfer media and start the edit and would appreciate help figuring out where to invest to get the best bang for the buck.  Thanks in advance for any discussion, links or advice.

• My rig: Current motherboard (GIGABYTE GA-H57M-USB3) poses one speed bottleneck because it’s only SATA2.
      • CPU is I7-860 w/ 16gb RAM.  Geforce GT240. (planning to get a GTX750ti)
      • Boot drive is 256gb SSD, 128Ggb SSD for exports, plus two internal 7200 1TBs I've been using for HD media.
      • Windows 7 Pro, Adobe CS6 workflow.  (Basic stuff, not a lot in AfterEffects).

Think I’m going to need at least 6TB for working media instead of the current 2gb.  Some questions:

1. Can I just replace my internal media drives w/ 2TBs or 3TBs each, or do you think 7200rpm drives in Sata2 will be a major bottleneck for working with 4K?
      2. How about a USB3 7200rpm external drive for project media?  Is USB3 fast enough?
      3. Would two new internal drives with RAID0 (via OS or motherboard) be a lot better, even in Sata2?
      4. Or would an external RAID be the best way to go?   (Via USB3?  Or eSata?)
      5. OR -- is it time to bite the bullet and get a new motherboard w/ Sata3...?   Or maybe even get a mobo w/ Thunderbolt?

From the many discussions of this topic, I see the best thing would be a new rig.... but can I get by with one of these incremental upgrades and still work efficiently in 4K?

Thanks!

Message was edited by: Mark Schubb

• 1. Re: 4k Freakout!  Drive speed bottlenecks?
          JFPhoton Level 3