10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2007 2:58 PM by Rothrock

Exponential Particle Decay

scatterbrain73
      I'm working on an animation that illustrates the concept of half-life (not the video game). I already have the equation that correctly simulates exponential decay. The idea is to start out with 1,024 particles spread out randomly in a square area (about 320 x 320 pixels) and have them disappear at the correct rate, following this equation:

http://www.petersenart.com/exponentialDecay.jpg

Ideally, the particles would be generated at random at the beginning and stay in the same spot throughout the animation.

Does anyone know how to translate this into ActionScript? I'm a complete noob when it comes to scripting. Thank you very much...
        • 1. Re: Exponential Particle Decay
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          1. create a particle and give it a linkage id
          2. excute a 1024 iteration for-loop that attached your particle at random locations within your region and store particle references in an array.
          2.3. initialize the arrays index and current number
          3. start a loop (onEnterFrame or setInterval() ) that iterates each time t and calculates the number of paritcles to remove (the difference between previous and current) and use a for-loop to remove those movieclips.
          4. increment the start array index
          5. update the current number
          6. repeat
          • 2. Re: Exponential Particle Decay
            Rothrock Level 5
            How do you deal with fractional particles? The equation gives fractional answers, but, to the best of my knowledge, .4378 of a particle cannot have decayed.

• 3. Re: Exponential Particle Decay
              round-off. that number is the result of a probability distribution anyway, not an exact number.
              • 4. Re: Exponential Particle Decay
                Rothrock Level 5