4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 7, 2007 11:49 PM by ggshow

dot notation

laphlegm
      I am new to action script, but as of now I am creating a site where an intro plays out and then returns to a movie clip that is two levels above it. So I can easily write _parent._parent.gotoAndPlay("site"); which works out fine and plays perfectly. But I know there is a way to define something like site_mc.gotoAndPlay("site"); to go directly to the movie clip that this is in, rather than saying _parent._parent. I think one has to give it an instance name, and also declare a var site_mc:MovieClip; but for some reason that doesn't seem to work. Am I not defining these variables in the right place, or am I missing something more important? Any ideas would help.

Thanks a ton for any advice!
        • 1. Re: dot notation
          ggshow Level 2
          // if you have this

site_mc = _parent._parent;

// then you can use this

site_mc.gotoAndPlay("site");
          • 2. Re: dot notation
            laphlegm Level 1
            Ah, I see. Is there no other way to call movie clips directly? or am I getting confused, when you call something like site_mc.gotoAndPlay() along is site_mc reffering to the instance name I gave it, or the actual title of the Movie Clip? I am guessing that when you call it, it is reffering to the instance name, no?
            • 3. Re: dot notation
              Pal_w_G
              All you have to do my friend is to declare a global variable........and store the movie you want to access......

_global.site = site_mc

but keep it in mind that you need to declare this var on the same timeline where your site_mc resides......or you need to assign it with its proper target path......in your case your target movie resides two level up so the relative path is _parent._parent.....