16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2015 2:37 PM by Townie64

Removing borders

Townie64

Hi - I am new to Id and am using Id 9.2 on a Mac

I am having troubles removing a border (that might not be the correct terminology) I have read many forums all suggesting these are borders - or margins - or columns and am getting nowhere. After playing with multiple settings (why not deepen the mystery ?) this border has returned to magenta along the top and a sort of brownish colour down the sides. If I use the selector tool it turns thicker blue. Despite much advice that this won't show on the final product, it is printing and showing up on PDF.

I have tried altering view settings - screen mode - grids and guides - minimised margins to zero to no avail.

Any ideas on how to get rid of this?

Many thanks

Screen Shot 2015-01-14 at 11.11.51 am.jpg

• 1. Re: Removing borders
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Perhaps you have a stroke applied to the frame.

• 2. Re: Removing borders
            Townie64 Level 1

Hi Peter

Thanks for that. How would I know if it were the issue?  Ive found 'stroke' but when I click it, nothing is operable and I get a black and white no entry symbol when I click on the join icons.

Thanks

Chris

• 3. Re: Removing borders
              [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Basic sanity checks:

Is the border a stroke applied to your image or not? You are misunderstanding basic InDesign operations. "I've found stroke [..] but nothing happens": you found the stroke panel, and it reflects the settings of the currently selected object. If you don't have an object selected (in this case, your troublesome image), you can click away at will and nothing will happen. (Also, the Join icons are for specifying the corner type. That is not relevant to your problem.)