5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2007 7:46 AM by tonyhigham

delay and cancel delay

chrissp26
      Hello,

I'm having some trouble delaying single keyframes keyframe in flash.

I'm making a 5 slide slideshow over 5 frames. Each frame needs to last about 4000ms, although this is flexible.
      BUT the 4000ms delay must be able to be reset when a button is pressed.

There are 5 buttons on the slideshow allowing a user to return to a previous slide or skip ahead without having to wait.

However the button when clicked switches frame but does not reset the delay set on the previous keyframe. So the whole slideshow goes out of sync until it just flashs different slides repeatedly. I've tried what I consider to be everything but as I am a novice I could do with the help of a pro.

The other problem I have which goes hand in hand with the one above is that I need the movie to pause and then resume when the mouse rolls over and rolls out from a particular area i.e. a button. But I have tried setting on rollover stop and on rollout play wtc (I know the syntax is wrong but I used the correct in the fla file) needless to say it doesn't work.

I have uploaded the fla file to here in case it helps: http://manage.merrions.com/slideshow.zip

I have attached the function i am using to delay each frame.

Thanks in advance

Chris

• 1. Re: delay and cancel delay
          tonyhigham
          OK, this is a little complicated...
          FWIW, I would move your button actions off the buttons since it's not considered best practice, but it's not strictly necessary to make things work.

First, go to your overButton layer, select frames 2-5, right click, and select 'Clear Keyframes'
          Then, go to your AS layer and in frames 2-5, remove everything in line 2
          Then, on your 5 buttons, change the 'gotoAndPlay' to 'gotoAndStop'
          Also on these buttons, add the following line directly below the 'gotoAndStop'
          _root.resetInterval()