5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2015 11:57 AM by try67

Script help

karenwspack

I am trying to create a Java Script calculation to give me a sentence where the date will change (to the current date)anytime the file is opened.

I can get the date but i can't get the copy to appear on either side of the date.

this script gives me the date

event.value = (new Date()).toString(); AFDate_FormatEx("mmm dd, yyyy");

but whats the secret to getting copy added to either side?

I want it to say "printed <date>. Printed copies of this document are considered UNCONTROLLED."

i'm new to this and I'm not sure what to look for anymore. Thanks in advance for any help.

Karen

• 1. Re: Script help
          karenwspack Level 1

well, I figured it out...I needed a second field.

// Get first field value

var v1 = getField("printed date").value;

event.value= "Printed on " + v1 + ". Printed copies of this document are considered UNCONTROLLED.";

• 2. Re: Script help
            try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Actually you don't need two fields, just a different code:

event.value = "Printed on " + util.printd("mmm dd, yyyy", new Date()) + ". Printed copies of this document are considered UNCONTROLLED.";

• 3. Re: Script help
              karenwspack Level 1

thanks - that's even better! Much appreciated

• 4. Re: Script help
                karenwspack Level 1

The person I did this script for says the date is not changing with each print. It still has the old date. do you have any other suggestions?

event.value = "Printed on " + util.printd("mmm dd, yyyy", new Date()) + ". Printed copies of this document are considered UNCONTROLLED.";

I also tried:

var f = this.getfield("DatePrinted");

f.hidden = false;

f.value = "Printed on " + util.printd("mmmm dd, yyyy", new Date()); + " Printed copies of this document are considered UNCONTROLLED.";

• 5. Re: Script help
                  try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional