31 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2015 10:54 AM by phillb24979688

I am new to Premiere Elements 13 - I cannot get Video to play in main screen

phillb24979688 Level 1

I believe that I have installed correctly on my Toshiba Laptop (Has minimum spec for this Software, Quicktime etc and I've updated my Video card driver). I've created a new project and imported a homemade video. The video is seen in the Timeline and when I press play, the CTI moves, I hear sound but the video is not showing in the main window...only a preview. Can someone help advise what I'm doing wrong? Thanks

• 1. Re: I am new to Premiere Elements 13 - I cannot get Video to play in main screen
          phillb24979688 Level 1

I should also mention that this video plays ok in Quicktime and on VLC

• 2. Re: I am new to Premiere Elements 13 - I cannot get Video to play in main screen
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

What model of camcorder is your video coming from and what format and resolution is it?

• 3. Re: I am new to Premiere Elements 13 - I cannot get Video to play in main screen
              phillb24979688 Level 1

Hi Steve,

I'm using the movie feature ofmycamera Panasonic Lumix LX7.

They are MP4 format

1920 x 1080

One other point...my graphics card is an AMD Radeon R7 M260

I've since been in touch with Adobe support via chat (nearly 3 hours) giving laptop control to Adobe support. AMD Catalyst installed and driver compatibily updated plus other thing tried.

Still not video playing in the desktop window

Any ideas? Isthere a know issue with this software?

Thanks

• 4. Re: I am new to Premiere Elements 13 - I cannot get Video to play in main screen

Premiere Elements should be able to work with .mp4 files. (It can have trouble with .avi files that use the .mp4 format occasionally.)

From the specs I see online, this camera can shoot in lots of different formats, frame rates and resolutions.