11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2007 12:28 PM by davidmedifit

Webservice vs Load XML

jeroencornelissen
      Hi,

I'm currently working on a project that contains a lot of data, about 14.000 records. This means an xml file of about 3mb.

Now my question is: Should I use the xml file to load all the data at once, or should I use a webservice, that provides the data when I need it?

Keep in mind that I'm new to webservices...
      And if I'm going to use a webservice :

* How do I store the data, in a mySQL database?
      * How fast is a webservice? Won't it take ages to make a call everytime I need fresh data?
      * ...?

Thx,
        • 1. Re: Webservice vs Load XML
          M. Huisman Level 1
          Depends on what you want,

If you have got 3 megs of static info, you might want to integrate it into your flex app. On the other hand, using a webservice has some nice advantages, it makes the information accessable dynamicly.

If you want to use a mySQL db you can also try to use php to retrieve your information.

It all depends on what the main goal of the application is.
          • 2. Re: Webservice vs Load XML
            davidmedifit Level 1
            Maybe I'm not understanding your issue - you have 14k records (about 3mb) - are you planning on loading all that into the flex app at one time? I'm not sure how that would work with performance, but I can't imagine it would be good!

There are fundamental differences between what static XML offers, and what you can do with a web service. A web service exposes, in a relatively controlled manner, your internal business logic. So, if it's likely that a user would want to see one record - or a number less than 14k - at a time, and it's unlikely that they will want to see ALL of the 14k records in one sitting - then I'd say go with a web service.