3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2015 9:33 AM by Dave Merchant

Printing with EPSON - SRGB

Charles832 Level 1

I have been printing in PS for years and now I must admit after being away from it all for a while I am lost......

I started shooting portraits for head shots in SRGB because when they were RGB 1998 the folks who took them to other print shops for duplicates got bad results. At that time I learned that most commercial printers are SRGB shops and I needed to switch.

Now however when I recently shot in srgb and tried to print for myself, shooting a canon 7d in standard mode, srgb, I found a very lackluster color in my headshots....still pretty but not as rich as I expected.....kind of grey.....

Then of course I tried to print on my EPSON 3800 which has always printed dark...After finishing in LR I would always print out of PS, because there have always been a few final touches I want to make.....however, the prints that are pushed to what I would consider the max in LR

as far as brightness is concerned would always need an extra push almost into clipping in PS to get a good print.......

This week I added a Epson Artison 1430 as an extra printer for small work (My Grandchildren 3x5's) and as long as I let the printer manage colors it prints fine, otherwise a bit red....Arrrrggggg!

I really need some help getting things straight so I can get some consistency.....the reading I have always done says NEVER use printer management always use PS to manage colors, and yet I waste 2 prints for every one I get and loads of ink to get a finished product I like, and have for years, I guess I just got used to it.,....Maybe it's an epson plot to sell more ink....

So Color space confuses me, having to push a photo in levels too hot to get a good print frustrates me, and what I really want to do is go back to RGB......

Any suggestions........Use a DEll Ultra Sharp monitor....not calibrated.....

• 1. Re: Printing with EPSON - SRGB
          Charles832 Level 1