4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 18, 2015 2:05 PM by briansilva

Use roto brush result in another layer

briansilva

Hello!

I've used the roto/refine edge brushes to isolate an FG object in some shot footage. I'd like to take the resulting mask from that and use it to cut out a few 3D layers that should appear to be behind it. Is there a way to export the roto brush result as a mask, or use the roto brush effect on another layer? Or even export just the alpha into images that I can pull back in as a footage layer?

The only solution I can think of right now is to copy the footage layer with the roto brush effect and layer the cut-out FG element over the 3D elements, but I'd prefer to hold out the 3D elements rather than add an extra layer.

Disclaimer that I'm fairly new to AE, though I'm experienced in other packages.

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Use roto brush result in another layer
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Disclaimer that I'm fairly new to AE

No need to, we would have known, anyway.... Of course there is any number of ways to render clips with Alpha (only). Otherwise one would simply use the pre-composed Rotobrush as a track matte. Well, whatever, clearly you have some learning to do.

Getting started with After Effects (CS4, CS5, CS5.5, CS6, & CC) | After Effects region of interest

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Use roto brush result in another layer
            briansilva Level 1

I'm mostly interested in a way if doing it without duplicating things. I'm using my original footage layer to get the alpha with the rotobrush, which puts the Roto Brush effect on that layer. But I don't want it to affect that footage, so I disable it.

To use a track matte, I'd need to have the roto brush effect enabled. So I need to have two layers with the footage: one at the bottom w/o the roto brush effect, and one with it enabled above my pre-composed 3D layers set to use it as a track matte.