11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2015 4:24 AM by Sebastian Hellborne

PC or MAC?

Sebastian Hellborne

Okay, I need some opinions to settle this dispute. We have a small graphics design team here at our company and they insist they want MACs for their work. They work with Photoshop, InDesign and Illustrator, all CS6. The head of IT won't approve that because we run a Windows domain here (that's not important right now).

What I'm asking is, if you take 2 computers of identical spec, one a Mac one a PC, is the Mac better for the above mentioned applications? I've never worked with one before.

Thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: PC or MAC?
          John Waller Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There's no discernible difference. It boils down to personal preference.

Historically, designers and creatives have preferred Macs.

System techs and network administrators have preferred Windows.

I'll be very surprised if you manage to settle this decades old argument in these forums.

• 2. Re: PC or MAC?
            Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

The programs are the same, but the handling is different. For InDesign I would strongly recommend to use a Mac, as when typing correct glyphs it is easier to use the alt key. A mac keyboard has 4 layouts contrary to windows, where you get these extended glyphs only via holding down the alt key by typing 4 numbers in the numeric part of the keyboard.

With PS and IL I see equality, with Acrobat I prefer to work on windows.

• 3. Re: PC or MAC?
              Sebastian Hellborne Level 1

Thank you. I just wanted to hear some opinions from people who had used both. I'm a system admin and I keep being pestered by requests from our graphics design team to get them Macs.

• 4. Re: PC or MAC?
                PeterK.. Level 3