7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2015 8:31 AM by Modesto Vega

How can I edit the same photo in multiple LR catalogs?

adamroephotography

Hi Forumworld,

I would like to edit the same photo in multiple LR catalogs. Before you say "don't", there are many reasons why I'd like to do this. I am a working professional photographer and LR is one of the many tools in my workflow. I essentially want to organize my catalogs according to two different principles: once by year and once by theme. As in, a catalog each for 2014, 2015, 2016. But also one where I can group all of my wedding photos, for instance. I have several reasons for not throwing all of them together into one catalog.

I know that LR is essentially non-destructive, making this an uphill battle. But: if I do something like set all LR catalogs involved to Automatically Write Changes into XMP, should that a) be visible by any catalog and b) sync properly? As in: once the photo is imported to both Catalog A to Catalog B, can I edit it in A and see those changes - including developing, but also flagging etc. - in B? And vice-versa?

Thanks for your help,
      Adam

• 2. Re: How can I edit the same photo in multiple LR catalogs?
          DdeGannes Adobe Community Professional

Just some thoughts.

a. There are no actual image files or copies of them actually in the Catalog. The files are only "referenced" in the catalog.

b. Will you have actual files or copies of the originals stored in different locations / drives / folders.

c. If you have one original file, imported into multiple catalogs and you write metadata automatically to the file that will be done. However if you then open another catalog that has the same file the  changes will not be applied automatically. You should get a warning that there is a change with an option read the info from the file.