19 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2016 12:04 PM by Szalam

User Interface Max Lightness

Bruno Quintin Level 1

Hi,

I'm an After Effects teacher. For the video projection, my students prefer an interface with more brightness.

In the preference setting Appearance, maximum Brightness is too low.

I try to change the preference file. I found this lines :

"User Interface Max Darkness Percent" = "70"

"User Interface Max Lightness Percent" = "50"

(in Adobe After Effects 13.2 Prefs.txt)

and

"User Interface Brightness (4) [0.0..1.0]" = "0.000000"

(in Adobe After Effects 13.2 Prefs-indep-general.txt)

I made many tests but it doesn't work.

Is it impossible to change the maximum brightness by editing the preference file?

Thanks

• 1. Re: User Interface Max Lightness
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

This is an adjustment that varies from version to version.  Thus, we need to know the version you're using.

• 2. Re: User Interface Max Lightness
            Eleni K

I'm having this problem too.

My biz partner/husband just upgraded my AE (without my permission) to v13.2 and the display brightness (or lack of it) is driving me apeshit.  It's taking twice as long to do or find anything.  I thought I was doing something wrong but I looked at the latest features list and indeed it's described as a new feature that the Appearance preference is limited and lower in brightness overall. Why would that possibly be a beneficial change, to have a small range of brightness?  Is there any way to fix this?

• 4. Re: User Interface Max Lightness
              Dave LaRonde Level 6

Well, you're stuck.  That version of AE doesn't have controls for modifying user interface brightness or text/feyframe colors.  Sorry.

While it won't help your situation right now, it's a common gripe among AE users, and Adobe says there's a fix  coming.  Some people say it can't come soon enough.

• 5. Re: User Interface Max Lightness
                Eleni K Level 1