2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2015 1:11 AM by Rick Gerard

How can I make this scene in After Effects?

SauronEffects

The Hobbit The Desolation of Smaug. Gandalf vs The Necromancer (Sauron) - YouTube

I am making this scene in stop motion lego. How can I make this scene, the shield vs smoke and the flaming figure, including the shots that zoom into Sauron's mouth. How do I do these shots? I am new to after effects. I have done basic smoke before, but nothing like this. I've done snow and green screen and fire, but I'd just like some help. Thank you I have CS6

• 1. Re: How can I make this scene in After Effects?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

How do I do these shots?

Practice, practice, practice. Seriously, I'll never understand why people always get in over their heads and want to re-create shots that 50 people worked on when they don't even know basics in AE. It's not like there is a single button to push. The "light shield" could be simulated using layers of circles/ CC Sphere, the smoke could involve anything from moving Fractal Noise and displacement effects to complex particle simulations in a 3D program, the Droste zoom on Sauron some simple layering and scaling animation of multiple pre-comps. Well, whatever, this would keep even me busy for several days. Good luck!

Mylenium

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How can I make this scene in After Effects?
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP