3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2015 4:38 AM by BobLevine

Changing Page Layout to Fit iPad Screen

brookesy310

Hi,

I am currently redesigning my portfolio in anticipation of an interview for an Apprenticeship. I do regard myself as being perhaps 'intermediate' using ID for print, and designing using ID, however I am a novice when it comes to interactive PDFs and digital publishing.

I am basically looking to get my iPDF to rotate according to iPad screen position via. Adobe Reader, if that is possible?

I have followed several online tutorials regarding liquid layout, I have reorganised the structure of my document for both the iPad-H and iPad-V columns, however when I upload my exported interactive PDF to acrobat.com - to view it in Adobe Reader on my iPad (Air) - I can't get it to switch viewing modes as I rotate the iPad; instead the vertical pages all reside below the horizontal ones, and I have to flick through the latter to get to the former.

If there are any tutorials out there relating to this specific problem which I have missed, or any instructions you are willing to give, I would be ever so grateful, so many thanks in advance.

I am currently using InDesign CS6 as part of the Design Standard Collection (meaning that I don't have DPS, if that is of any relevance).

• 1. Re: Changing Page Layout to Fit iPad Screen
          Doc Maik Level 4

I might be wrong, but I never heard that in a PDF the layout would change according to the orientation of the tablet. A PDF page is intended to be rigid like a in magazine or newspaper, no matter if interactive or not.

Layout changing to orientation is only intended for eBook format, which can only be generated by the DPS.

• 2. Re: Changing Page Layout to Fit iPad Screen
            brookesy310 Level 1