10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2007 2:59 AM by Sketchsta

MovieClipLoader

jl2000 Level 1
      Hi - In over my head (as usual) but here goes...
      I have a master.swf that will be the container and background for other swfs....most notably the "splash.swf" . Splash is the container for all the navigation (external text files loaded into dynamic text boxes) - so its important that it be completely ready before appearing.

In master I have the code below - using MovieClipLoader, loading splash into holder_mc. The problem is that when splash appears, it has a jerky, staggering appearance instead of the smooth movements it should. The onLoadProgress counter tells me that splash is appearing around 90%.

What am I doing wrong here?

TIA any suggestions.

JL
        • 1. MovieClipLoader
          Sketchsta Level 1
          try:

//create a listener object
          var listener_mc:Object = new Object();

//tell listener_mc what to do.
          listener_mc.onLoadInit = function (target_mc:MovieClip) {
          target_mc.play();
          }
          listener_mc.onLoadStart = function (target_mc:MovieClip) {
          target_mc.stop();
          }

hope that helps.
          • 2. Re: MovieClipLoader
            jl2000 Level 1
            Sketchsta -

Thanks for the code. I need to double check with you that I've used it correctly - so it's attached.

Splash is loading up as before but that onLoadProgress function isn't showing up now. So I can't get whether the entire splash is loading.

When you use the phrase "target_mc" - am I supposed to replace that with my phrase "zloader" or "holder_mc" ?

I appreciate your expert input.

JL
            • 3. MovieClipLoader
              Sketchsta Level 1
              Hi, yeah you done it right, but you forgot to add listener_mc to your movieClipLoader.

zloader.addListener(listener_mc);