12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2015 1:56 PM by kmc27

Getting "TypeError: f is null" error

kmc27 Level 1

I have a series of check boxes on a form for users to select from. In some cases, the user may want to select all of the check boxes. For the cases when the user wants to select all of the boxes, I have a separate "master" check box with the script below attached to it as an action. When the user selects the "master" check box, all of the "slave" check boxes are selected. If the user unselects the "master" check box, all of the "slave" check boxes are unselected.

The issue I am seeing is that when a user selects any of the "slave" check boxes individually, the JavaScript Debugger console displays a "TypeError: f is null" message.

I do not know what the error means, or what, if any, action I need to take, since the script works as expected. Any advice on this would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your time.

// Get the value of this checkbox

var v1 = event.target.value;

// Names of subordinate check boxes

// and their associated export values

var cb_list = {

"chk_mkt_bos.0.0" : "1",

"chk_mkt_bos.1.0" : "1",

"chk_mkt_bos.2.0" : "1",

"chk_mkt_bos.3.0" : "1",

"chk_mkt_bos.0.1" : "1",

"chk_mkt_bos.1.1" : "1",

"chk_mkt_bos.2.1" : "1",

"chk_mkt_bos.3.1" : "1",

};

if (v1 != "Yes") {

// turn all other check boxes on

for (var cb_name in cb_list) getField(cb_name).value = cb_list[cb_name];

} else {

// turn all other check boxes off

for (var cb_name in cb_list) getField(cb_name).value = v1;

}

• 1. Re: Getting "TypeError: f is null" error
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Did you check to see that you populated the cb_list with the needed data?

Did you check to see if you are getting the cb_name you expect from the cb_list?

Did you check to see if you actually got the field object as shown in the JS reference manual?

var cb_list = {

"chk_mkt_bos.0.0" : "1",

"chk_mkt_bos.1.0" : "1",

"chk_mkt_bos.2.0" : "1",