8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2015 12:17 PM by john beardsworth

Import from Aperture has filled my HD!

jgdce49

I'm new to LR5....I used the "Import from Aperture" plugin to migrate my whole Aperture library (39,496) into LR.  I thought that I'd set it up to store the images on an External Drive, however this hasn't happened and they've ended up both as a Smart Collection "without keyword" and in "most recent" on my computer HDD.  This is now completely full.  Can I still move the whole "Smart Collection" across to an Ext. HDD or should I delete and start again, if so how, as  it says I can't delete from Smart Albums?

• 2. Re: Import from Aperture has filled my HD!
          jgdce49 Level 1

Karsten

Thanks for the reply, looked really promising...but not quite...

So I have my Mac. HD with only 50GB left to use, and I have my 3TB external drive with 1.2TB spare.

The "YouTube" clip that you referred me to looks perfect, exactly what I want (need) to do, so having watched it a couple of times I followed the guide exactly, but after I've clicked on the Folders + and selected my 3TB Ext HD I don't get the option to "choose folder" and the Ext HD doesn't appear under "Folders' heading below my Macintosh HD

I tried creating a new "untitled folder" on the Ext HD but that doesn't show up either..?

If it's means anything, this Ext HD does appear to be receiving my "Time Machine backups", as a new screen then appears asking whether I want to transfer these across to my Macintosh HD..!

There's a missing link here somewhere, presumably hidden in a drop down somewhere but I'm really stuck with this as it's now stopped my iMac from accepting updates as there's not enough space left on my HD., so I really need to get all these images transferred over to the external drive...

Any further suggestion would be much appreciated.

John

• 3. Re: Import from Aperture has filled my HD!
            Karsten Wind Level 1