3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2015 12:39 PM by Ned Murphy

Best practices in structuring a large Flash project?

capicue

I'm building an educational site in Flash. A student works through a series of activities, either watching an animated video or answering a question. You can get a good idea of the basic functionality with this mockup: http://imgur.com/Mi4JyHN.

After a student logs in, the server responds with their current activity and progress. The activity displays, and all student interaction is sent to the server to record (time spent on questions, buttons clicked, correct and incorrect answers, etc). When the student is done with an activity, the server is notified and responds with the next activity to present.

I'm fairly new to flash and would love to hear how people with experience would structure this project. I can think of the following possibilities.

1. One enormous SWF. All audio files and movie clips are embedded in the SWF and swapped out as necessary. This is not a reasonable option because the size of the resulting SWF would be huge.
      2. Exactly one SWF for each activity. The control buttons and progress bars are obviously shared between each activity, and it seems like a lot of duplication to have them in each compiled SWF. Also, if a button is changed, this requires re-compiling everything, right?
      3. One main SWF that loads others. The main SWF contains the buttons and progress bars and fetches external SWFs from the server to replace the stage area. I don’t know enough Flash to predict how this will go.
      4. Part JavaScript, part Flash. The buttons and progress bars are done in HTML + JavaScript. The page fetches external SWFs from the server to replace the stage area. This is the current system, and the problem is the ugliness/difficulty of managing the communication between JS and AS3.